3

BidVertiser Distributing Malware?


Well before shifting over to wordpress, I was and still am quite active on the blogger platform. Recently when I checked one of my blogs, it showed me that all the pages of my blog had been reported as an attack page! As far as I know Google’s blogger servers should be pretty safe and hacker-proof and I haven’t intentionally placed any malicious code on my own.

I clicked on the ‘Why was this page blocked?’ button in the ‘Reported Attack Page’ in Firefox, and came upto the Google safe browsing Diagnostic page. And now I quote from that page as to the reason why my blog was blocked:

Of the 181 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 134 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2010-05-25, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2010-05-25.

Malicious software is hosted on 1 domain(s), including manilis.com/.

1 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for distributing malware to visitors of this site, including bidvertiser.com/.

Oh boy, yeah, bidvertiser! I had put on two ad blocks of advertiser, less than a month ago.

Sure enough, I logged into my Google Webmaster Tools and checked the blog out. Yup there was that glum yet dangerous warning : ‘This site may be distributing malware. More Details

Webmaster tool warning

In the details section of each and every page was the same text:

Detail_warning

What the hell? Malware? Earlier users were clearly unhappy with their tracking, review and certain black hat SEO methods.And now malware? As a result of the site being ‘closed down’, I’m already losing thousands of visitors and not to mention the revenue.

In what I could make out is that advertisers using the bidvertiser are somehow ‘advertising’ malware, which could be the result of the bidvertiser guys not having a proper advertisement-review policy in place.

As you might have guessed, I’ve already removed their advertisements from my site and am just about to close down my bidvertiser account. Don’t want to take anymore chances. Nuh, their not getting a share of my money no more!

Below I am attaching the Google safe browsing Diagnostic page of both my blog as well as that of bidvertiser.com. Check it out and I think you might have a clearer idea.  Note that for personal reasons  I am not divulging the name of the blog which was blocked.

my-blog-warning

Google safe browsing Diagnostic page of my blog

bidvertiser-warning

Google safe browsing Diagnostic page of Bidvertiser.com



Filed in: Blogging, Featured, Security Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Related Posts

Bookmark and Promote!

3 Responses to "BidVertiser Distributing Malware?"

  1. Erick says:

    My ITComparison.com website is currently suffering the same problem. Is not there away to have a joint and sue these guys? Please e-mail me if you are interested.

  2. Gourav Sharma
    Twitter:
    says:

    Exactly same happened to my forum Gstek.info , I just shouted over bloody Cheaters bidvertisers and removed there codes forever from my site.

  3. Rose says:

    Thank you for dropping by my blog. It is sad that so many have been hurt by this. People just trying to make a living.

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment

© 2012 Tech With Ric. All rights reserved. XHTML / CSS Valid.